Just Me Whining

Posted on Updated on

It is time for me to vent and whine.  If I hold it in, or try to, it might shoot out of my mouth in a way that will cause a fight or words being said.  Today I will focus on the last three incidents.   Incident may be a bit strong sounding but I guess that kind of says it.  Anyway here goes.

A few months ago my grand daughters boyfriend got to where when he would pick up our great grandson he would stay around for a few hours before he took the baby home.  My wife asked me why he stayed around so long and didn’t just go home so we could relax.  I suggested that if my wife didn’t cook for him and give him food that maybe he would get the message and leave so we could relax.  That triggered something like this (with voice very much raised) “I knew that you would turn it around  so that I am at fault”.   That prompted me to start praying “Dear Lord please help me to just be calm, passive and silent”.

Unfortunately my prayers tapered off and a bit later I ventured advice once more.  The wife was having a texting war of words with our grand daughter trying to get her bring the baby to a get together given by her fathers sister in law for their one year old baby.  Anyway when there was  lull I said that she (my wife) would be much happier if she just let everyone run their own life.   Well this tirade lasted a good hour to an hour and a half;  I thought that advice would be good for both my wife and my grand daughter. . . but noooo it turned into yet another scream fest.  Once again I started to pray again  “Dear Lord please help me to be totally calm, passive and silent”. 

And now my wife is sick with some virus that is going around and she is sleeping a lot.  Knowing that my wife seems to look for ways to get pissed off I made sure to go upstairs and look in on her.  I did it as quiet as possible so as not to wake her up.  When I am sick I like to be just left alone to relax in my own mind so I thought that would be what the wife would like to just be quiet to slip in and out of sleep.  Anyway that night right on schedule she said you didn’t check on me to see if I was still alive . . . etc.   Fortunately I knew she would be looking for a way to get pissed off at me and pre-empted that strike.    I once again started my constant prayer “Dear Lord please help me to be totally calm, passive and silent”.

This routine has gotten really old over the years and although I have prayed almost constantly to be able to just be silent and not offer my opinion on anything I still get caught.  One of my takes on this routine in that me having a major heart attack may not be a bad thing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

